The South Central WoD regional gathering was in Dallas and hosted by the House of Fibonacci. They did not disappoint! Briar went above and beyond to make this regional the best one yet. Honey, Woman of Drummer 2019, picked me up at the airport with a bright smile and a much needed cigarette. During the drive to the house we got to know each other better, discussing our jobs and family situations. It warmed my heart to become closer to my title sister.

That night we made our way to the Hidden Door for the meet and greet, which is typically my favorite part of the weekend. There’s nothing quite like sharing energy and conversation with the locals in each city I visit. This time was special because two of my judges were present to support me: Bear Mike (along with his husband, Bear Marvin), and Sara, Woman of Drummer 2021. I also got to meet Terrie Anderson, who playfully chided me for not “copping a feel” when I affixed my pin to the crotch of her jeans, which is the Women of Drummer way. I was also grateful to Onyx Pearls Lustre for coming out to meet me and wish me well in the rest of my title year. Seeing empowered black women in leather energizes me, and reminds me that I belong in this community.

Saturday began with our roundtable, but this time was different. I ran the roundtable from the pool! The Texas sun beat down on us with such intensity that nothing seemed more appealing than sharing our experiences while the water cooled us off. I didn’t struggle at all to keep everyone on task while still allowing it to be a fun, relaxed environment. I was grateful to the participants for bringing up questions and topics that mattered to them, such as accommodating age and disability in play. After the roundtable my title sister and den daddy Alice told me I did a great job facilitating. I wanted so much for them to be proud of me and felt overwhelmed to receive their approval. 

That night was the wildest play party I have ever been to, and at this point, that’s saying something. I participated in 7 scenes, by far the most I have ever done. Until that time, during regionals I would have 1 good scene and spend the rest of the party socializing and enjoying the almost intoxicating feeling I have after a beating. The adventure began with a group cupcake smashing to celebrate my upcoming birthday. Cake and frosting ended up in places the sun doesn’t shine, and I loved every moment. I had dabbled in food play in the past but this went above and beyond my fantasies. After being hosed off, I proceeded to enjoy fisting, impact, a classic over-the-knee spanking, and more. I pushed myself to the limit without crashing, and felt so powerful! 

On Sunday came the farewell brunch and I was feeling emotional. So many women came out to share energy, play, and have fun with me. My heart was full from the connection, and I wasn’t ready for it to end. Thankfully, I had one more day left! I got to spend my last full day in Dallas with Alice, my den daddy during my title run. She taught me about what true support looks like in the leather community, encouraged me to think more about what I’d like to pursue after my step aside, and deepened our friendship.

I am forever grateful to Briar and the House of Fibonacci, along with all the lovely people I met during the Dallas weekend. I look forward to seeing many of them at the contest this month, and continuing to build relationships with them.

Jewel, Woman of Drummer 2022

Hidden Door Friday Night
With the Onyx Pearls Lustre